When to learn

Reading through a document is very boring if I’m not motivated. Trying a new command is boring if there is no need. I’m not that patient after all.

To me the best learning opportunity is when I have a problem.

However, when I have an urgent problem, I tend to avoid learning and seek for quick solution. This is not a good idea: After the problem is solved, it is hard to go back and learn.

So whenever I find a problem, I think if I have time to learn. If so, I put away the problem for a while and learn first. I think I made huge difference in this way over the past 10 years
compared to other people who just ask around and solve problems.

Leave a Reply

